Everyone loves a foodie

Richie is a foodie. He didn’t used to like to admit it, but I think he’s coming around to the idea.  It’s pretty nifty to live with a foodie. Especially since I’m such a fussy eater. Richie stumbles upon something I like, then he works and works at it until he gets it just right.

May I present exhibit A: deep fried broccoli.

It’s way better than it looks. And sounds. I don’t know how well you can see the photo. I wasn’t sure how I would like it, since I don’t like deep fried green beans. But I love it! And let’s not forget the Chipotle mayonnaise.

A spoonful of mayo and as much hot sauce as you can stand.

 

Then there’s this little lunch: spicy noodles.

I didn’t like the dish the first time Richie prepared it. But the next time he made it, he cooked the noodles according to the instructions (apparently he just works at his own whim. Foodies).

 

And last night, there was this little gem:

Baked potato, garlic bread, and lime garlic pepper chicken. Maybe a little onion, too. Richie isn’t here to proofread, so I’m not really sure. But it was really damn tasty.

 

And, last but not least (for now). Homemade salsa.

This salsa is incredible. No kidding. I almost OD’d on it. And it makes a lot, which, is good, because Richie’s kid eats a lot of food. And so does Richie. He’s a middle of the night snacker. (And he doesn’t gain weight, the bastard.) Between these two, I’m lucky to get scraps.

 

Those who know me I’m not a cook. Well, barely. One of my New Year’s resolutions was to learn a new recipe each month. I’ve only missed one month. I hate cooking. When I get home from work, I’m tired and don’t want to mess with cooking. I just want to warm something up and eat. Because Richie is the best boyfriend ever, he often makes big meals that last for a few days- chilli, pasta, etc. I bake. Usually weekends. When I actually have the energy. If you’re lucky, I’ll blog about these recipe escapades. Poor you. I mean, lucky you.

Leave a Reply

