Day 6: Election Day

It is 8:20 am, and a beautiful day in the big city. Richie and I just got home from the diner. We got up at 6:00 this morning, and were out the door at 6:15. The voting place was less than half a mile away. There was a line out the door, but it actually went pretty fast. I’m talking thirty or  forty minutes. We were at the meter for the diner at 7:10. This was the first election that I didn’t use an electronic machine. I filled out a scan tron. I made sure to darken those little bubbles as hard as I could. There can be no mistaking my vote. I also heard the voices of many school teachers in my head. “Darken those little bubbles all the way!”

I was prepared for this moment.

It was a little snug in the room. My claustrophobia was beginning to kick in. I made it out before anything could go wrong. Then we were off to the diner for a hearty breakfast (that included a milkshake!) to get us through the day.It’s going to be a long day.

 

I think everyone should vote. Vote as if your life depended on it.

 

It does make a difference, it really does. I’m not going to tell you which candidate to pick, or even which one I picked. Mom once told me to never discuss religion or politics. (Best advice ever) But I am going to tell you that it is so important. It’s a right. Not every country gets this option. They are stuck with whomever they get. North Korea, anyone? Did they vote in Kim Jong-un, or did he succeed his father? Big difference.

Look, just do the research on your own. Don’t let Bill O’Reilly or Rachel Maddow tell you who to vote for. Turn off the tv and do the research yourself. Get out and vote. Carpool. Make a date out of it like Richie and I did. And if you proudly wear your I Voted sticker, you can get free or discounted merchandise at select locations. (Wear your sticker to Shameless Grounds and get a free small beverage!)

 

And don’t forget:

Leave a Reply

