Day 14: BITCHfest

No, this isn’t an actual bitch fest. It’s a collection of essays culled from ten years of Bitch magazine. It’s edited by Lisa Jervis and Andi Zeisler with a forward by Margaret Cho.

I love Bitch. It’s one of my favorite feminist magazines. I love reading a magazine that isn’t trying to get me to lose weight, buy products way out of my price range, or trying to tell me how to please my man. (I know already know how.) I read about issues that I actually care about- equal pay; rape in the military; gay rights; what my government really is doing for me.

The book is broken down into eight chapters, with at least half a dozen essays to each chapter: Hitting Puberty; Ladies and Gentlemen: Femininity, Masculinity, and Identity; The F Word; Desire: Love, Sex, and Marketing; Domestic Arrangements; Beauty Myths and Body Projects; Confronting the Mainstream; and Talking Back: Activism and Pop Culture.

There are fifty four essays, covering a range of topics from being a young female headbanger instead of (or in addition to) a hip hop fan; lesbianism in YA novels; the cultural response to rape and sexual abuse; femininity in the trans movement; and the feminists who aren’t. There’s bound to be something here for everyone. You may learn something new and surprising.

Leave a Reply

