Christmas at Home

Last week:

Richie: Since I’m going out of town for Christmas, me you and Lauren are having Christmas on the 22nd.

Me: Okay.

Richie: You have to spend the whole day with us, and you have to be nice.

Me: Fuck.

Here’s our tree:

IMG_0779

And the stockings:

IMG_0795

We don’t really go all out with the decorating (budget), so we just scatter small things around.

If you’re decorating on a budget, here are a couple of ideas.

We tape all of our Christmas cards to the front door.

IMG_0794

And I scored a holiday bowl a few years ago

IMG_0796

We take ornaments without hooks (I’m sure you have a few) and group them in the bowl.

IMG_0797

It’s cheap, and puts those hook-less ornaments to work. We have two Santa bowls of ornaments- one in the living room, and one in the kitchen.

Richie’s daughter is heavy into Korea at the moment, so she got a Korean tourist book, and a couple pairs of beautiful ceramic chopsticks. (I keep telling her to learn Chinese so that we can be prepared when they get here. Never listens.)

I got a beautiful tea tin of Earl Grey tea.

IMG_0790

IMG_0792

I love Earl Grey tea. It’s my favorite tea. I actually just found out today that it’s an actual person. Every time we go to Jay’s International Food, I get caught up in the tea aisle, admiring all the tea tins (there are some really beautiful ones).

Richie also bought me my own tea pot.

IMG_0789

It’s cast iron bamboo. He put it in a headphones box, and I actually thought I was getting headphones, because I am too dumb to live.

Richie: Put them on, I want to take a photo.

Me: Damn these are heavy- oh, it’s a tea pot!

(much better)

Next came the board games: Mental Floss; Candy Land; Yahtzee.

And the food! Cocoa with candy canes; holiday Oreos; cherry sours; chicken dinner with gravy, corn on the cob, green beans, and croissants. So full.

Next came tv: Christmas episodes of Futurama and King of the Hill. Kung Fu Panda: Holiday, the Office, and Bob’s Burgers round out the watching.

Richie’s super perfect Christmas has turned out to be super perfect. Yay. And now he’s making a snack tray. Great- more food.

Leave a Reply

