Double Chocolate Zucchini Bread

Tonight, I made some double chocolate zucchini bread that I found at A Thought For Food.

(and yes, Catherine, I remember that time when we were kids and you and your neighbor Tanya followed me around your mom’s house trying to get me to try your grandmother’s zucchini bread, and I finally did and loved it.)

Richie wasn’t too sure about this recipe- he isn’t much for sweets. But I was determined.

The owner of the blog (or at least who runs the Twitter account) was very kind and answered all of my questions:

2-3 large zucchinis gives you four cups, 3-4 small.

You don’t to bake two loaves at a time- one at a time works also.

I only got three cups from my three zucchinis, so we one-thirded the recipe.

The bread isn’t really bread- the author even states that it’s more cake shaped into bread.

IMG_0930

I used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of dark chocolate. The recipe yielded two loaves, one of which I’ll be taking to work tomorrow.

I was nervous to try this. It’s definitely one of the more exotic dishes I’ve tried. I’ve had zucchini bread, but not chocolate zucchini bread.

IMG_0931

I had a lot of fun grating the zucchini- probably a lot more than is normal. If you need something grated, I’m your gal!

I did like this a lot, and I think Richie was pleasantly surprised. I’ll have to add this to my rotation.

Leave a Reply

