K is for Knitting

For those of you just stumbling across this blog for the first time, I am a knitter. I’ve been knitting for five years (this June).

My friend Anita taught me first. I bought Stitch ‘N Bitch by Debbie Stoller, and I was on my way.

Slowly.

I’m still a slow knitter. I’ve only done a couple of pairs of socks. I haven’t knit a sweater (hopefully next year) and I haven’t really knit lace (hopefully this year).

I’ve mostly done hats

IMG_0935

and scarves:

IMG_0936

I’ve done one simple wrap, and many blanket squares. Oh! And a cowl for my cousin Catherine (the expectant cousin):

IMG_0874

(She’s camera shy, so I took a photo in the finished piece.)

IMG_0875

Everyone has helped me knit. Anita; Kara; Rachel; Kate; Jamie; Ann; Ava; Kim. Debbie Stoller; the Yarn Harlot.

I definitely wish I was more prolific in this craft. I try to knit everyday, but it doesn’t always work.I try to while watching tv, to keep my hands moving. And I take knitting to Richie’s gigs (because I just don’t give a fuck), but even then I don’t always knit.

Everyone seems so much more advanced than me. Especially Kate, who’s been knitting about as long as I have. I know I shouldn’t compare my work to others’, but you only say that because you haven’t seen the knitting ninja (Kate) in action. And all of my pieces seem so simple, while everyone else is reading charts. I know, I know- just keep knitting, just keep knitting, just keep knitting knitting knitting. What do we do? We kniiiiiiit!………….

Ours is not to wonder why- ours is but to knit or die.

4 thoughts on “K is for Knitting

  1. tempesttea says:

    I have not knit a sweater either. And Natalie does just fine with a knit stitch. You are of the knit tribe & a good knitter.

  2. Em says:

    How much for that beautiful cowl?!?! You have until fall! 😉

Leave a Reply

