National Sugar Cookie Day

This was not supposed to be a real post. It’s National Sugar Cookie Day, and I’m on the last episode of season one of Dr. Who. I was going to make some sugar cookies, watch the episode, then post a quickie about me being absent because of May.

But fate it seems had other plans for me.

Heartless bitch.

First, it took me forever to find a recipe because apparently everyone and their brother’s dog has their own way of doing things. So I settled on this one.

I got my ingredients

IMG_0970

and mixed happily away.

I even burned the butter. I had to turn on the exhaust fan and open the kitchen window.

In July.

In St. Louis.

Anyways, I’m mixing away happily, thinking I’m going to have sugar cookies and tea for breakfast  tomorrow because I’m a grownup and I’m allowed and I notice that my mix is all crumbly.

Sugar cookie dough is not supposed to be crumbly.

IMG_0972

If you Google “is sugar cookie dough supposed to be crumbly”, Domino sugar will tell you (first of all) to not melt your butter or margarine because the dough separates.

DING DING DING DING DING DING DING!

Fuck.

Apparently you’re supposed to cut the butter into small pieces then mix it like that, but this recipe doesn’t tell you that because you’re tacky and this site hates you.

It does tell you also, that if your dough is dry or crumbly, to add milk. I added one teaspoon first, then added two tablespoons like I was supposed to in the first place. The dough was still crumbly, but was holding into ball shapes.

So I baked  about eight.

IMG_0971

They basically taste like sugar biscuits.

We threw it all out.

Stupid sugar cookies.

All of this time that I could have been watching Dr. Who, and instead fought with dough demons.

I’m going to have a Fudge pop and then go to bed.

 

One thought on “National Sugar Cookie Day

  1. tempesttea says:

    I think it was the poor directions not you. Baking is like chemistry to me. Something I appreciate, but don’t understand.

Leave a Reply

