Day 25: Alice Hoffman

So I was going to write a review on The Drowning Season by Alice Hoffman. As I was thinking of what I was going to say, I realized something: Alice Hoffman writes a lot of fluff.

Which isn’t necessarily a bad thing. If you’re coming off something large and intense, or a classic, fluff is usually the way to go. But the thing is (for me anyway), Hoffman’s books average 275 pages. That’s not really enough time for me to really get to know the character and really root for them.

There is a specific formula to Hoffman’s work- intro to characters; flashbacks; something serious happens; conclusion. She’s a formulaic fluff writer. (Ooh, I like how that sounds.) I like to be involved with characters- which sounds disturbing since I read Thomas Harris. But you get what I’m saying.

I’m not saying any of this is bad. Some people love fluff. It’s something I noticed and felt the need to share. Lucky you.

3 thoughts on “Day 25: Alice Hoffman

  1. cellenbogen says:

    Kind of harsh, I think.

Leave a Reply

