Sunday Confessions- Horror Films

1) My favorite horror film (as I mentioned last week) is Nosferatu. The special effects for 1922 were spectacular (in my opinion) and it’s just such an unsettling film.

NosferatuShadow

2) I love zombie films. My favorite is a French one called La Horde. It was one of the best last stand scenes I’ve seen.

La-horde-poster

3) I love love love Dracula, Dead and Loving It. You either love this movie or you’re wrong. There’s nothing wrong with humor in horror (see Young Frankenstein), and this has an all star humorous cast. Leslie Nielsen is simply the best.

Drac_dead_and_loving_it

4) Takashi Miike is a fucked up horror film director (and I mean that as a compliment) from Japan. I’ve seen a good deal of his work, though not all of it. And not all of it is horror. I have watched Imprint and Audition all the way through, but I can’t watch Ichi the Killer. I usually get to the halfway point, and I’m able to watch a little more each time, but I have yet to watch it all the way through. I don’t consider Visitor Q horror. I don’t know what the fuck that movie is.

Takashi_Miike

5) Bela Lugosi is the best Dracula. Don’t even try to argue me on this one.

Bela_Lugosi_as_Dracula,_anonymous_photograph_from_1931,_Universal_Studios

6) I love classic horror. It’s my favorite genre. When I was younger I loved the blood and gore. But as an adult, I have more of an appreciation for what you think you see out of the corner of your eye. I believe what’s left to the imagination of the viewer is more frightening than what any filmmaker can show. Those who disagree simply don’t have a good imagination, or lack one altogether. I pity them.

Leave a Reply

