NaBloPoMo Day 7: Too Much Sugar

Ugh. I eat way too much sugar, you guys. But every time I try to cut back it’s just too hard- I have zero willpower. I’ve heard that sugar is as addicting as coke or heroin. Of course, I have no idea if this is true.

 

Everyone has ideas on how to cut back on my sugar intake- complex carbs, cold turkey, etc. But no one has told me how to get over those initial cravings? The ones I get when I’m stressed out and my brain says it’s okay to have that ice cream/soda/cookie/candy bar because things have been hard and I deserve it. No one has really given me a healthy, decadent substitute to the sugar that is slowly killing me. (is there really one?)

 

Richie has told me to wean myself off- to try to go two weeks without drinking a single soda. But what do I do when the craving gets to be too much? Fruit? Is that really enough? And isn’t that really more sugar? Someone said peanut butter, but Richie said that was sugar, too.

 

Are there any doctors or nutritionists out there that can recommend something to make the sugar withdrawal a little more bearable?

One thought on “NaBloPoMo Day 7: Too Much Sugar

  1. […] I’m giving it another try. We all know it wasn’t very successful last time. I’m not Catholic, but I always try to give something up for Lent as a personal […]

Leave a Reply

