NaBloPoMo Day 12: Dombey and Son by Charles Dickens

Dombey and Son

A behemoth novel of Old Chas- 938 pages. It took me almost two weeks to read it. It was a labor of like, that’s for sure. But I will say this may be my favorite Dickens novel. Of course, there are still novels of his that I have not read.

 

This particular story is about the rich, cold, callous Paul Dombey, the owner of a shipping company. His neglect of his family (especially the women) leads to his personal and professional downfall, thanks to two back to back scandals. It also concerns the unwanted daughter, Florence, and her desire for her father’s love, and how she grows under his complete ignoring of her.

 

I can’t say exactly what it is about this novel that I like. How the mighty fall, perhaps? What could happen if you’re so cocky that you just walk over people without a sense of kindness or gratitude? Yes, probably. It was an effort, and I’m glad I read it.

Leave a Reply

