Lent: Giving Up Sugar

Yep, I’m giving it another try. We all know it wasn’t very successful last time. I’m not Catholic, but I always try to give something up for Lent as a personal challenge.

I haven’t had a soda in a week.

I haven’t had any sweets in two days.

 

The way my brain works is that I like to treat myself. Because I deserve it. I just have to change how I reward myself. I think the first couple of weeks are the hardest. My issue with calorie counting a few months ago was I just got tired of writing everything down. So I’m thinking of maybe having bread and butter as a snack. It’s not sweet, but it is a little decadent.

I’m also thinking of making a homemade trail mix with cashews and raisins.

Richie says raisins are sugar and don’t count.

Neither does hot chocolate.

 

Look ya’ll- I need a little bit of something. I’m already giving up cookies, cake, brownies, ice cream, candy, donuts, and pop tarts. Let me have my damn raisins and cocoa!

 

Baby steps, you know?

 

Note: I will be cheating on March 4th. That’s me and Richie’s 9 year anniversary and there WILL be dessert.

 

Wish me luck, guys

Leave a Reply

