Week One- Cake Week: Pistachio White Chocolate Cardamom Cake

I know I’m behind in these blogs. I know. But I’m determined to get all caught up in the next few days. EAT IT.

 

So, remember when I got my hands on Chetna’s cookbook? Of course you do. I decided to use one of Chetna’s recipes (the one on the cover, actually) for my bake off.

 

The cake was pretty easy. I had a hard time crushing the cardamom, and shelling pistachios is a pain in the ass. Next time, I’ll buy ground cardamom and shelled pistachios- not a thing.

20160629_215214

I know a cake is going to be good based on the batter. And this batter was damn tasty.

 

I did have problems with the icing, which was my fault, not the author’s. I let the butter melt too much, so my icing was waaaaay to runny. Did you know powdered sugar (aka icing sugar) can thicken up icing? I didn’t. Now I do! Added in some powdered sugar and more butter. The result as a super rich icing. And because the two cakes were stacked on top of each other with icing on each layer, this was a thick, rich cake

20160701_195130

A thick rich delicious cake. I bet if the icing hadn’t been so runny the cake would look prettier. Eh, you live and learn

 

2 thoughts on “Week One- Cake Week: Pistachio White Chocolate Cardamom Cake

  1. ras1217 says:

    So…. how did it taste? show us a picture when you slice it. Where have you been all this time? Miss you a lot. especially on Sundays.

    On Sun, Jul 17, 2016 at 7:34 PM, lilspydermunkey wrote:

    > lilspydermunkey posted: “I know I’m behind in these blogs. I know. But I’m > determined to get all caught up in the next few days. EAT IT. So, > remember when I got my hands on Chetna’s cookbook? Of course you do. I > decided to use one of Chetna’s recipes (the one on the ” >

Leave a Reply

