Week Eight- Pastry: Eclairs

You guys, eclairs are hard.

Never done eclairs before. Never even attempted pastry.

Yeah, didn’t work.

The pastry cream was fine.

The choux was okay

Maybe my piping tip was too small? They sure make it look easy on Bake Off

I’m going to save the pastry cream to use as a pie filling (other ideas welcome), and I’ll keep the heavy whipping cream for homemade ice cream.

 

I’m very proud that I kept my calm and didn’t cry or curse.

Why yes, I would cry over cake on Bake Off. Why do you ask?

 

Now I’ve brewed myself some tea and made myself a cookie in a mug.

 

The eclair recipe came from Martha Stewart’s Baking Handbook, and the pastry cream recipe came from Kitchn.

One thought on “Week Eight- Pastry: Eclairs

  1. Have you tried cream puffs? Basically the same thing just a better beginner shape. The King Arthur Flour web site has a great tutorial section (on their blog I think) with photos. Good luck! I hope you’ll try again.

Leave a Reply

